Signing Off

So for now the adventure comes to an end. Six months and six countries later and it’s time to come home. Although it feels like we’ve done so much it also feels like it’s all happened in no time. It seems like we should still be telling people ‘we’ve got five months left’. At the start of our trip especially we met people who were in their last legs of the trip and I couldn’t imagine what that would feel like as it seemed so far off, but now that’s me. Somehow I’ve been out here for six months. It’s been such an amazing trip and I’m so happy Elise and I didn’t really plan anything and just left it to chance. What I’ve learnt about travelling, or at least round South East Asia is that it’s best not to plan your trip out. You’ve no idea before you go how much you’ll like one place, or how long you’ll want to be somewhere for. Travelling around by bus, train even plane is so easy and cheap that it’s easy to just go as you please. We never planned or even thought that we’d live in Phnom Penh for two months of our trip. It just came about after doing one Thai class and some google searches one rainy day in a dorm room in Koh Lanta. 

Although it all (almost, all) has been amazing, there’s definitely some highlights. For meeting people and just the general vibe I loved Indonesia. It was our first stop so we were still new to it, but it was definitely the right place to make our first stop. As a place I absolutely love Singapore. It’s like no other city I’ve been to and when I was there I just wanted to stay there and never leave. And lastly I loved Cambodia. If talking to a backpacker I wouldn’t exactly say that Phnom Penh is a must, but it was such a different experience living there. As I’ve mentioned so many times on previous posts…

So to sum up it’s been amazing, I’m not sure what’s next and I’m very lucky to have met so many lovely people, been to so many lovely places and go home to see lots more lovely people! For now the blog will remain quiet but hopefully at some point in the future it will reopen for business with a new travel destination in the title… 

2 thoughts on “Signing Off

  1. Ian Law says:

    Emma I have so enjoyed your blog and hearing about your travel adventures and somewhat envious that I never did something like that at your age but maybe in retirement some day.
    We look forward to hearing all about another travel adventure after your dad recovers from this one well maybe his wallet.

Leave a comment